• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 😂 026 - Feeling overwhelmed, the humor effect, and opposable thumbs

😂 026 - Feeling overwhelmed, the humor effect, and opposable thumbs

3 marketing tips. 2 favorite quotes. 1 short story. Every Sunday.

Hey friends 👋 - Welcome back to The Student Creator!

This is letter 26! Welcome to the 394 newest members of The Student Creator family :)

Thank you for giving me space in your inbox. 🙏

Every Sunday I share:

  • 3 marketing tips

  • 2 favorite quotes

  • 1 short story

Lezzz goo! 👇

3 Marketing Tips: 💎

1. Writing Tip ✍️

Writing is design

Make your writing:

  • Have plenty of white space

  • Look inviting to read

  • Easy to scan

2. Psychology Tip 🧠

The Humor Effect

People tend to remember funny information better.

How to apply this:

  • No, you don’t have to crack jokes all the time

  • No, you don’t even have to be remotely funny

  • Yes, you should show your personality

A few great examples by Vitamin Water (Future #watergang sponsor?)

3. Storytelling Tip 🖍

Jump right to the action

A good storyteller: "Let me tell you a story"

A great storyteller: "You’re not gonna believe this…"

A world-class storyteller: "For a second I thought I might actually die today."

Good tells you a story is coming.

Great sets the scene before starting.

World-class drops you right in it.

Watch this tip in action:

(You might also see this tip in today’s story 👀)

h/t: Robbie Crabtree

2 Favorite Quotes: 📜

“The person that controls the frame, controls the conversation. The person that controls the conversation, controls the outcome.” — Robbie Crabtree

Reminds me of the quote… “Opposable thumbs allow humans to hold onto things, but it's stories that allow us to know what's worth holding onto.”

“Your life is a firefly blink in a night. If you fully acknowledge the futility of what you’re doing, then I think it can bring great happiness and peace because you realize this is a game. But it’s a fun game.” — Naval Ravikant

Zoom out.

1 Short Story: It’s Not War 🔫

“Hey… at least it’s not war.”

It was 11:15 pm at night and I felt like someone just jumped on top of my back...

Only 3 hours ago I was joking around outside without a care in the world.

But now, all I could feel was pressure.

It was weighing on me.

I was tired. I was sore. And I was stressed out.

It was 11:15 pm and I had a big math test the following morning that would…

…determine whether I had to drop the class or not.

I was worried about the future, and I was overthinking the past.

So, naturally, I went to seek advice:

So I went to ask the wisest person I know…

My mom. (hi mom 👋)

And she said…

When I’m stressed, I do two things:

  1. Take a deep breath 😮‍💨

  2. Think “Hey… at least it’s not war.”

And that’s so true! (Isn’t she so wise?)

Because guess what?

In the grand scheme of things, you’ll probably forget that stressful moment (unless you write it down in your story bank 😉).

When in doubt, zoom out.

(And think, “Hey… at least it’s not war.”)

What Happened This Week: 🕵🏻‍♂️

  • Reached 7k followers on Twitter (almost 8k at the time of editing this)

  • Reached 2,000+ newsletter readers!

  • Started doing CopyWork (I’m on day 12)

  • Hosting a space later today, join me:

Cya next week! (or at that space later today at 9 am CT time 😁)

Jay “It’s Not War” Yang

The Student Creator 👨🏻‍🎓

P.S. Whenever you're ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Make your first visual idea here (20+ students)

  2. Grow your Instagram following here (50+ students)

P.P.S. don’t forget to drink some water :)

Did someone send you this newsletter? Subscribe here

Join the conversation

or to participate.