• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 027 - Living in a state of ‘why’, the nostalgia effect, and an empty stomach

027 - Living in a state of ‘why’, the nostalgia effect, and an empty stomach

3 marketing tips, 2 favorite quotes, 1 short story to consider this week.

Hey friends 👋 - Welcome back to The Student Creator!

Where each Sunday I share:

  • 3 marketing tips

  • 2 favorite quotes

  • 1 short story

Lezzz goo! 👇

3 Marketing Tips: 💎

1. Writing Tip ✍️

Why THAT word?

The other day, my English teacher assigned us a homework assignment called:

“Why THAT word?”

And, the goal was to notice any words that stood out in everyday writing to decipher what the writer was trying to communicate.

And, it got me thinking…

The best writers are also the best observers.

What do I mean by this?

Let me explain.

The best writers live in a constant state of ‘why?’, they’re constantly observing, noticing, making connections, and thinking more deeply about seemingly mundane, unrelated, things.

  • Why do people drink so much coffee?

  • Why don’t people drink enough water?

  • Why are people so addicted to TikTok?

  • Why THAT word?

Doing this… living with curiosity, with wonder, and with awe…

Helps you make more connections, have more ideas, and in turn, makes you a better writer.

Stay curious.

2. Psychology Tip 🧠

Use Nostalgia

“Nostalgia. It's delicate — but potent.”

Nostalgia is one of the most powerful emotions we have as human beings.

The best marketers tap into their own feelings and then share those feelings with others.

Watch this scene:

3. Storytelling Tip 🖍

Replace ‘Ands’ with ‘Buts’ or ‘Therefores’

Whenever you can:

  1. Cut the fluff

  2. Replace it with a twist (or turn)

Why?

‘Ands’ - drone on and on - and onn… and onnnn…

They’re stagnant. Linear. Boring.

And no one likes boring writing. People want to feel excitement (Like going on a roller coaster).

Each sentence…

Should pull your reader’s attention…

…Down…

…The…

…Slippery…

…Slope.

Okay, Not THAT exaggerated.

But you get my point.

Your stories should have twists then turns, questions then answers, problems then solutions.

2 Favorite Quotes: 📜

“All communication is either a loving response, or a cry for help.” — Tony Robbins

“History is an argument about the past.” — Poster on my History Teacher’s Wall

1 Short Story: 🖍

My stomach is growling.

It’s 11:42 am. I’m kneeling at my desk. My room is hot. I’m reading a blog article by Eddie Schleyner. My eyes quickly scan over the page. Back and forth. Back and forth. My stomach growls again. I usually have 2 eggs and 2 pieces of bacon for breakfast. This morning, I did not.

“Jay?”

“Yeah.”

“What would you like to eat?” my mom is leaning against the doorframe. “It’s almost lunchtime.” She walks further into my room and stoops over me. “Whatcha workin’ on?” She says.

“Nothing,” I say. “Just reading a blog article.”

She pats my shoulder. “Alright, don’t forget to take a break.”

“Okay,”

She leaves my room. I turn back to the screen. I touch my stomach, it’s growling again.

But I can’t get food, not yet. I return to the blog article.

When I was younger, I was obsessed with finding answers. I couldn’t let things go. Even now, I struggle to leave things unfinished. It was just getting to the good part.

“Jay-” My mom says. “It’s time to eat.”

“Just a minute!” I say.

I just have to finish this article. My knee starts to shake. I shift my weight to my other knee.

I’m nearly there. Just 1 paragraph left.

I finish the article. Shut my laptop, and sprint down the stairs.

“Coming,” I say.

I grab a plate and put a bagel in the toaster oven.

The toaster dings. I grab a knife and peanut butter and start to spread.

10 seconds later, I take a big bite.

The warm peanut butter fills my mouth.

I take another bite. And another.

I eat it all.

My stomach isn’t growling anymore.

Your pal,

Jay “Obsessed” Yang.

Hey! 👋 Whenever you're ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Make your first visual idea here (20+ students)

  2. Grow your Instagram following here (50+ students)

Did someone send you this newsletter? Subscribe here

Join the conversation

or to participate.