• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 🤭 028 - Potty mouth, choice overload, and future pacing

🤭 028 - Potty mouth, choice overload, and future pacing

3 marketing tips, 2 favorite quotes, 1 short story to consider this week.

🤭 028 - Potty mouth, choice overload, and future pacing

https://beehiiv-images-production.s3.amazonaws.com/uploads/asset/file/6ffb1e78-e4b7-4b1f-b2ea-7717c6c082a9/SC_Banner__3_.png

Hey friends 👋 - Welcome back to The Student Creator!

Every Sunday I share:

  • 3 marketing tips

  • 2 favorite quotes

  • 1 short story

Lezzz goo! 👇

3 Marketing Tips: 💎

1. Writing Tip ✍️

Incorporate “Slippery Slope Phrases”

The best writers do 1 thing extremely well:

They lead readers down the slippery slope.

The most engaging writers:

  • Make them imagine

  • Withhold information

  • Ask rhetorical questions

Here are a few Slippery Slope Phrases to use:

Here are a few more I noticed from ‘The Boron Letters’:

  • Now pay attention, because what I’m about to say is really important.

  • Big deal, huh? Well, it is to me.

  • Anyway, let’s get started.

  • In fact, in my opinion,

  • Don’t get me wrong.

  • The point is this:

  • Well, anyway,

  • Onward.

2. Psychology Tip 🧠

Eliminate ‘Choice Overload’

‘Choice Overload’, AKA ‘Choice Paralysis’ means:

The more choices you give someone, the harder it gets to make a decision.

Help people to choose by removing some of the choices.

And the easiest way to do this? Use “There are two types of people”:

Your goal is to create a statement that presents choice, and then allow them to pick.

There are two types of people in this world: those who read newsletters like this and do nothing, and those who put what they read into practice and enjoy immediate results. 😉

h/t: Phil M. Jones (Exactly What To Say)

3. Storytelling Tip 🖍

Future Pacing

People buy with emotion, then justify with logic.

Future pacing is about getting people to imagine something in their lives that’s possible in the future.

When you get somebody caught up in seeing and believing the results they could get with your product. They’ll get excited.

…And feelings lead to sales.

So here’s how you do it:

1/ Acknowledge where they are right now

People have a need to feel important, and the first step toward influencing them is to acknowledge their current position. Otherwise, they’ll resist you.

Ex:

“I’m guessing you’re reading this for a number of reasons. Perhaps you’ve been working out consistently for the past few weeks or months, but you haven’t seen any significant gains. Well, It’s not your fault.”

2/ Future Pace

To future pace, you need to use the word “Imagine,” and a clear time frame.

Ex:

”Imagine 3 months from now, it’s a warmer, sunny day, and you show up to school in a tank top. Your classmates see you and start asking you what you’ve been doing to get such huge muscles.”

3/ Post Acknowledgement

Ex:

“Wouldn’t that feel great? Your hard work is finally paying off and you’re getting the recognition you rightfully deserve.”

See what I did there? Could you imagine that warm feeling of finally getting recognition? Good. That’s what I was aiming for. Onward.

2 Favorite Quotes: 📜

"Creativity is when you SEE what everyone else SEES, but you THINK what no one else has THOUGHT."

Neil deGrasse Tyson

“The attention is never higher, and the resistance is never lower, when you can make someone laugh.”

Kevin Rogers

1 Short Story: Potty Mouth 🖍

“Oh, $#%!”*

It was another routine day at school. I was sitting in math class, taking notes, and listening to the teacher drone on and on.

I looked at the clock…

tick, tick, tick

It seemed like the clock was barely moving at all.

tick, tick, tick

“When does this class end?” I thought.

I looked around the room.

One kid was eating a can of Pringles. Another was fidgeting with his shorts.

It seemed as though we were all itchy to get out of here.

“Oh, $#%!”*

I looked up at the whiteboard.

My teacher had just erased something that she shouldn’t have.

“Ooooooohhh,” The class giggled.

My teacher smiled, “Yeah, I’m such a potty mouth.”

One kid spoke up, “Wait, really?” He said. “You didn’t really seem like the swearing type.”

“Oh no, I swear all the time.”

“No way!”

“I knowww, I try my best to hold it in when I’m at school.”

The class giggled again.

“One time, my mom swore at a lady at Starbucks.”

“Oh, me too! Except, my dad swore at our neighbor.”

“Mr. Clarke swears all the time…”

One by one, everyone started to spill their secrets.

“Interesting,” I thought. “The Law of Reciprocity in action.”

Annddd that’s a wrap! 🌯

Catch ya next Sunday,

Jay “Kinda Wants Pringles Now” Yang.

Hey! 👋 Whenever you're ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Make your first visual idea here (20+ students)

  2. Grow your Instagram following here (50+ students)

Did someone send you this newsletter? Subscribe here

Join the conversation

or to participate.