• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 👨🏻‍🎓 030 - The artist’s lens, self-education, and entitled people 🔍

👨🏻‍🎓 030 - The artist’s lens, self-education, and entitled people 🔍

3 marketing tips, 2 favorite quotes, 1 short story to consider this week.

Hey friends đź‘‹ - Welcome back to The Student Creator!

The marketing newsletter that’s got you covered like your favorite blanket on a chilly Autumn evening (Brrr).

Every Sunday I share:

  • 3 marketing tips

  • 2 favorite quotes

  • 1 short story

You ready? Well alrighty then, let’s get to it! 👇

3 Marketing Tips: đź’Ž

1. Writing Tip ✍️

Write to ONE person

You may think that because you’re writing for your audience that you have to use plurals like: “ya’ll” or “everyone”.

But that’s not true.

When your audience is reading your writing…

They’re reading it individually.

So speak to them individually.

The two most powerful words are “You” and “Your”. Use them often.

Ooo! I have an idea, let’s play a game :D

Starting now, count how many times I use the words “You” or “Your” in this newsletter.

Then, reply to this email with your guess… winners get a secret prize 🤫

You with me? Awesome, let’s keep going.

2. Psychology Tip 🧠

The Law of Entitlement

When you look at your family pictures, who’s the first person you look at?

Yourself of course.

Humans are inherently self-interested creatures.

We all ask, “What’s in it for me?”

Use that to your advantage:

Don’t try to make your customers want your product. Make them believe they deserve it.

No one’s more determined than a person who thinks they deserve something (Except for motherly love, of course).

And the best way to make them feel like they deserve an outcome?

Pit their problems against a common enemy.

3. Storytelling Tip đź–Ť

Seeing Through The Artist’s Lens

The hands can only write what the eyes see, and the greatest tools you possess as a storyteller are your eyes.

I’m not talking about the two painted spheres on your face. I’m talking about your perspective, your lens, and your worldview.

You see, the number one most important skill in storytelling is observation.

A great storyteller sees inspiration everywhere.

They look at the world through “Child’s Eyes”.

They see the limitless and immeasurable opportunities the world has to offer.

Increase your awareness, because EVERYTHING is content.

As Sherlock Holmes said: “The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.”

Instead of ignoring the mundane, storytellers welcome it.

They view life as a game to find the hidden lessons amongst the boring and uneventful.

2 Favorite Quotes: đź“ś

“People don’t buy images or messages; they buy better versions of themselves.”

Roy Sutherland

“Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.”

Jim Rohn

1 Short Story: Donuts 🍩

It was 5:01 pm. And I had just gotten home from cross-country practice.

I put my bag down and looked up.

“How was practice?” My dad asked.

“Meh,” I said. “It was just okay.”

“Oh, hey! I bought donuts today,” My dad said.

“Awesome, thanks.”

I quickly unlaced my shoes, washed my hands, and went to the kitchen.

“Yum,” I thought.

I opened the box of donuts and there lay 12 beautiful chocolate donuts staring back at me, calling my name.

I quickly grabbed a plate, and fork, and reached for a donut.

3 minutes later… donut demolished, I went upstairs to do my homework.

And that’s where I pause the story. You see…

Later that evening, while I was working out, I came to the realization:

I didn’t really want to eat that donut.

I wasn’t craving it.

Heck, I wasn’t even hungry.

So why did I eat it?

Because it was available.

And that made me realize that oftentimes, we do things “just cuz”.

Why do we use the Safari browser on our iPhones?

Why do we idolize billionaires, sports stars, or influencers who don’t know our names?

Why do we get easily offended by something we heard on the news?

As Elon Musk once asked,

"Who wrote the software running in your head? Are you sure you actually want it there?”

The point I’m trying to make is this:

In a world where we’re constantly being bombarded with information…

We must raise our consciousness.

We must raise our awareness.

We must ask ourselves...

Is this what I want?

Or what others have told me I should want?

Catch ya next Sunday,

Jay “Still Gonna Eat That Donut” Yang.

Hey! đź‘‹ Whenever you're ready, there are 2 ways I can help you:

  1. Make your first visual idea here (20+ students)

  2. Grow your Instagram following here (50+ students)

Did someone send you this newsletter? Subscribe here

Join the conversation

or to participate.