• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 👨🏻‍🎓 031 - Tactical stress, micro commitments, and raising your LPM

👨🏻‍🎓 031 - Tactical stress, micro commitments, and raising your LPM

And a big announcement?

Hey friends đź‘‹ - Welcome back to The Student Creator!

The marketing newsletter that’s fresher than those mints they give you after your meal at Olive Garden. (That’s fresh!)

Every Sunday I share:

  • 3 marketing tips

  • 2 favorite quotes

  • 1 short story

You dialed in? Locked and loaded? Ready to start? It’s go time! 👇

3 Marketing Tips: đź’Ž

1. Writing Tip ✍️

Sprinkle Micro Commitments Throughout Your Writing

Micro commitments are words or phrases designed to get a “yes” from your reader.

Here are a few examples:

• Got it?

• You with me?

• Understand?

• Make sense?

• Not bad, eh?

• Can you imagine that?

• Do you understand what I’m saying?

The more yeses you get, the better.

2. Psychology Tip 🧠

Use Metaphors & Analogies

People aren’t as good at understanding numbers and data as they are with metaphors and analogies.

Instead of saying $9.99, say:

3. Storytelling Tip đź–Ť

Raise Your LPM

Your LPM is your “Laughs Per Minute”.

Your goal with your story is to raise your LPM.

The more laughs you get, the more your audience connects with you.

The more your audience connects with you, the better you will be able to influence them.

How to apply:

  • Add references to pop culture (Friends, The Office, etc.)

  • Watch comedy before you start writing

  • Write when you’re in a good mood

  • Use GIFS and memes

2 Favorite Quotes: đź“ś

“If more money wouldn't change how you spend your time, then you're already rich.”

Vizi Andrei

“The first method for estimating the intelligence of a ruler is to look at the people they have around them.”

Machiavelli

1 Short Story: Writing in a Good Mood 🤗

It's super late at night, and I once again am procrastinating on my story.

So instead, here's a sneak peek of some future content in the pipeline:

Ayo! Jay here.

This afternoon, a creator friend of mine said some nasty words about me behind my back…

Can you believe that? I know, I’m still kinda shocked myself.

But don’t worry, by the end of this, I’m positive that I’ll be back to my jolly ol’ self.

Anyway, let’s get started.

Today I want to discuss with you the importance of writing in a positive mental state.

You see, when I first started writing, I would put off my newsletter until late at night when I was tired and a tad grumpy.

The result?

A “meh” newsletter.

The writing didn’t sing. I wasn’t creative. It was stiff, and even dare I say… boring.

Why, you may ask?

Because writing is thinking.

And when you’re in a poor mental state, your writing will suffer.

So here’s the “optimal” time to write:

  • When you’re in a happy and cheerful mood

  • When you have high energy and creativity

  • After you’ve primed yourself to be creative and fun

I’ve told you before, but, no one likes boring writing.

If you’re bored while writing it, your readers will most likely be bored when reading it.

Do what you must, to be in a good mood while writing.

Here’s what I did to cheer myself up before writing to you:

  • Took a deep breath

  • Reviewed positive comments and testimonials

  • Played some happy music

  • Reminded myself that I get to talk to you! :D

The point is this:

Your writing reflects your mental state.

So, as Jason Hayes from Seal Team would say, “Get yourself squared away.”

Well, would you look at that?

I feel a lot better now.

Talk soon,

Jay

1 Quick Announcement: đź—Ł

As it's getting closer to the end of 2022, I've realized that I can step it up even further with my content and the value I provide to you.

So be on the lookout for changes to both my newsletter and social media content.

I've been slowly updating my overall content strategy, creator funnel, and writing style.

Don't worry, I'll keep you updated throughout the process.

Just remember, it's still lil ol' me writing to you :D

Catch ya next Sunday,

Jay “Leveling Up” Yang.

Did someone send you this newsletter? Hit that big button below and join us!

Join the conversation

or to participate.