10 Ideas I Can't Stop Thinking About

A Peak Inside My Mind

Hello friends and welcome to curious jay! If you want to join 6,500 other readers learning about life and business, subscribe below:

Feel free to check out my other articles and follow me on Twitter, and if you want to chat about writing, newsletters, social media, or well, anything else in general, book a call here!

This week was wild. Had several people I’ve admired for a long time offer me an opportunity to work with them. Can’t wait to share more soon.

Here are 10 ideas that have been on my mind recently…

10) You probably should read more

“The man who doesn’t read books has no advantage over the man who can’t read them.”

Mark Twain

We live in a world that glorifies impulsive risk-takers and vilifies those who never take the leap of faith. Yet there’s a big difference between taking action and making progress.

Action is working 80-hour weeks. Progress is completing your project. Action is working on fifty different dribble moves. Progress is mastering one. Action feels good. Progress gets results.

High performers don’t move to move. They only move when they have an advantage. And that comes from studying history, learning from the mistakes of others, and connecting patterns most people can’t.

Don’t mistake reading for inaction.

I probably read one to two hours a day. That puts me in the top .00001%. I think that alone accounts for any material success that I’ve had in my life and any intelligence that I might have.

Naval Ravikant

In my whole life, I have known no wise people who didn’t read all the time — none, zero. You’d be amazed at how much Warren reads — and at how much I read. My children laugh at me. They think I’m a book with a couple of legs sticking out.”

Charlie Munger

9) Wander Before You Climb

You don’t know what you want because you haven’t explored enough.

Think about it. When we were kids we wanted to be doctors, vets, and firefighters because that’s all we knew about. When we learned about other careers our aspirations were broadened.

Expand your horizons. Climbing the ladder quickly won't get you anywhere if the ladder is on the wrong wall. Instead, wander before you climb. Start a business, play an instrument, or create a newsletter.

Explore, then exploit.

8) Writing Upward vs. Downward

I was listening to a podcast interview with Jimmy Soni, the author of The Founders.

He talked about the difference between writing upward and writing downward.

Writing downward: Knowing everything and trying to communicate it.

Writing upward: Learning as you write. Learning WITH your readers.

Most people focus on the first method. However, the latter is underrated. When you piece the puzzle together with your readers, you take them on a more real and raw journey. Don’t just write to express, write to explore.

7) The Vicious Cycle of Cynicism

“Minimal beliefs lead to minimal action which leads to minimal results which reinforces your minimal beliefs.”

Shaan Puri

“I’m unlucky.”

“Easy for you to say.”

“She’s just smarter than me.”

It sounds woo-woo, but your beliefs have an impact on your results. And if your beliefs impact your results… why not choose to believe beliefs that serve you?

“I am lucky.”

“I will make it happen anyway.”

“She may be smarter than me, but she will not outwork me.”

Constantly ask yourself, “Is this belief helping or hurting me?”

“When you change what someone believes is possible. You change what becomes possible.”

Alex Banayan

6) Short-Term Catchy, Long-Term Sticky

The ultimate goal as a creator is for your brand to be short-term catchy, and long-term sticky.

Short-term catchy: Your posts stand out from everyone else on the timeline. They break the pattern people are used to.

Long-term sticky: Your ideas live rent-free in your follower’s mind. Even if they don’t see your name, they can tell a piece of writing is yours.

How can you create content that both captures attention and holds mental real estate?

5) Avoid Compound Mistakes

Compound Mistakes are mistakes made right after a mistake.

In basketball, my coach would constantly tell us that he cares more about our mistake response than the mistake itself.

In basketball and life, mistakes are inevitable. You throw a turnover in basketball, lose your temper with your spouse, or miss a meeting at work. What’s next?

You can either compound that mistake into another mistake, or you can make up for it. Your goal should be to never make two mistakes in a row.

Mistakes are inevitable. Compound mistakes are optional.

4) We Need More Anti-Goals

Growing up, we learn the importance of setting goals. Small goals, big goals, SMART goals. But what we don’t learn is how to set anti-goals. The stuff we don’t want to happen.

“What if your dream was to be a musician. And guess what - you did it! But while you’re touring the world, you gain weight, get addicted to drugs, your marriage is in shambles, and your kids don’t recognize you… you won the battle but lost the war.

Shaan Puri
  1. What do you want?

  2. What do you NOT want?

3) Sticker Price vs. Real Price

“The person you marry is the person you fight with. The house you buy is the house you repair. The dream job you take is the job you stress over. Everything comes with an inherent sacrifice — whatever makes us feel good will also inevitably make us feel bad.

Mark Manson

In every decision you make, there’s a hidden cost that comes with it. Choosing to buy a brown sofa means you’re paying two costs:

  1. The cost of the brown sofa (sticker price)

  2. The cost of not buying a black sofa or investing that money (real price)

Nothing in life is free. You aren’t making decisions, you’re making sacrifices.

  1. What is the sticker price?

  2. What is the real price?

  3. Am I willing to pay both prices?

2) Seek Asymmetrical Opportunities

There are two types of asymmetric opportunities:

  1. High risk, low upside

  2. Low risk, high upside

The goal is to pursue more of the latter opportunities.

Essentially, you want “Heads I win, tails I don’t lose much.”

Here are 7 low-risk, high-upside opportunities:

  1. Reach out to a stranger

  2. Work at a startup

  3. Start your own business

  4. Publish a piece of content

  5. Join a community

  6. Move to a big city

  7. Build in public

1) Closed Mouths Don’t Get Fed

This past Friday, a “successful” entrepreneur came to our school to give a talk about his business. My friend wanted to ask him to sponsor an event he was holding, but he was scared to ask.

Without even thinking, I blurted out, “What’s the worst that could happen? Closed mouths don’t get fed.”

My friend asked that entrepreneur… and got him to sponsor his event!

If you want something — and you know you’ve done the work to deserve it — ask for it.

Worst case? They say no.

Best case? You get what you asked for.

Don’t sit back and wait for opportunities to come to you. Create them.

- Jay Yang

PS — Which idea was your favorite? Reply with the idea that resonated the most and I may write a longer post on the ones that get the most upvotes.

🔥 Jay’s Picks

• This podcast was filled with contrarian rules for success. I shared my favorite takeaways here.

• One of the greatest pieces of career advice I’ve come across.

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.