• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • 2 Simple Ways to Connect With Your Readers

2 Simple Ways to Connect With Your Readers

Saturday, 9:38 AMNovember 12, 2022

Right now, I’m writing this in my bedroom.

I’m sitting crisscrossed with a blanket covering my legs.

My dad is close by. He’s in his office shredding papers.

It’s raining outside. I can hear it outside my window. Not heavy rain, just a light drizzle. It’s nice.

About an hour ago I finished my basketball workout. I got about 250 shots in 56 minutes and 47 seconds.

Now I’m ready to write.

I went downstairs and filled my water bottle.

Sat up straight and adjusted my blanket.

I’m situated, ready to rock n roll.

Are you? Sweet.

Onward.

If you want to establish a connection with your readers, follow this advice from legendary copywriter Gary Halbert:

1) Date Your Writing

Notice how I put the exact year, exact month, exact day, and exact time?

Why did I do that?

Well, as Gary Halbert put it: “It makes the letter a little more personal… I think this way of doing things bonds the writer and the reader closer together.”

Simple, right?

It’s a small little thing that I’ll be doing from now on. I would like you to try it with me.

2) Describe The Details

Another tip Gary Halbert suggests is to: “Describe where you are and what you are doing as you are writing the letter.”

Did you notice how I described my environment with extreme detail before I began writing? You did? Good. That’s what I was aiming for.

This type of introduction immediately invites the reader into your world.

It sets the tone for the rest of your writing.

It establishes the mood - and teases your reader’s imagination.

I told you where I was. How I was sitting. Who was near me. What I could see and hear. And what I did before I sat down to write.

Not bad, eh? That little personality or pizzazz — that extra little “oomph” that grabs your reader’s attention… also bonds them to YOU as the writer.

And that’s how you build a powerful personal brand. Where people read your writing not only for the tips and lessons… but so they can get an update on YOU.

Pretty cool, huh? I thought so.

Hey, by the way, if you want a pdf of Gary Halbert’s Boron Letters completely free…

Check out this website that collected them all. Highly recommend.

Alrighty, that’s my time.

Talk soon,Jay

P.S. This edition was inspired by Eddie Shleyner from VeryGoodCopy.

Jay's Picks:

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.