9 Lessons Learned in 2022:

Read time: 2 min

Happy holidays, my friends! šŸ¤—

I was thinking of not publishing a newsletter this week because I didnā€™t want to send one while everyone was busyā€¦

But hey, thereā€™s never a better time to learn and grow than on Christmas day :)

Donā€™t worry, this weekā€™s edition will be a brief one.

Letā€™s get to it! ā†“

One yearā€¦

Thatā€™s all it takes to completely transform the direction of your life.

One year ago I was lost, directionless, and purposeless.

Now? I'm still winging it as I goā€¦

But Iā€™m full of energy, purpose, clarity, and direction.

Here are 9 of my favorite lessons from this past year that Iā€™m taking with me into 2023 and beyond:

9) Build ā€œfoundationalā€ skills

  • Writing

  • Thinking

  • Learning

  • Speaking

  • Selling

These skills will amplify anything else you do.

If you can master them, youā€™ll always find valuable work.

8) Craft your inner circle

ā€œIf you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.ā€

  • Find those with similar goals

  • Believe in similar values & principles

  • And are willing to grow with you

You're the product of your environment - design it intentionally.

7) Empathy is an asset

ā€œOur perceptions of the world make up 0.0001% of how the world works, but 80% of how we think the world works.ā€

Understanding this is the key to:

  • More sales

  • Higher impact content

  • Being a better human being

6) Always think long-term

Your reputation takes years to build - but only one decision to destroy it.

Ask yourself:

  • Would my 80-year-old self be proud of my decision?

  • Would my 8-year-old self be proud of my decision?

5) Create a cheerleading file

Open a google photos albumā€¦

And save kind things people have said about you.

When youā€™re having an off day - open it up and scroll through.

Instant mood booster.

4) Honor your sacred hours

Your sacred hours are the 1st & last hour of your day.

In the morning:

  • Knock out your biggest task

  • Do something for your future self

At night:

  • Reflect and unwind

  • Do something for your present self

3) What you consume consumes you

  • What are you reading?

  • What are you watching?

  • What are you listening to?

Your inputs determine who you become.

Better inputs ā†’ Better thoughts ā†’ Better you

2) Learn to use ā€œdead timeā€

These are little pockets of time that usually go to waste.

  • Waiting in line

  • Lunch breaks

  • Scrolling on Tik Tok

Commit to maximizing these short 5-min time frames.

ā€¢ Stretchā€¢ Write a tweetā€¢ Listen to a podcast

Itā€™s small at first, but it adds up significantly over time.

1) Drink more water

Water is your bodyā€™s ā€œelixirā€.

Water is proven to:

ā€¢ Increase your energyā€¢ Brighten your skinā€¢ Flush toxins

Every time you reach for your phone - take a sip of water.

Well, there you have it! My favorite lessons from 2022.

Itā€™s simply amazing how much you can grow in one year.

I mean, look at what kind of crap I was writing last year šŸ˜…

In one year you can:

ā€¢ Build and scale a one-person business

ā€¢ Launch and grow a world-class newsletter

ā€¢ Dramatically improve your health and fitness

ā€¢ Go all in and become a master in a valuable skill

ā€¢ Build a personal brand and work with your heroes

If thereā€™s one takeaway I hope youā€™ve gained from following me this year, itā€™s this:

Keep learning. Keep building. Keep evolving.

I'm extremely bullish on what's coming ahead, and I hope you are too.

Lastly, Iā€™d like to leave you with a quote from Sahilā€¦

Happy holidays to you and yours, from me and mine.

Talk soon,

Jay "Don't forget to look back at your old self and cringe" Yang

P.S. Donā€™t forget to drink some water :)

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

LAST WEEK'S FEEDBACK

JAY'S PICKS: šŸ”„

New here? Wanna kick 2023 off with a bang? Click that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.