How to Craft Your Creator Backstory

(The Double Hero's Journey)

Read time: 3 min

This week’s newsletter is brought to you by…

Me.

Yep, I’m opening up 15 spots for my personalized coaching calls.

In 60 minutes, we’ll fill out your “personal brand cheat sheet”, and review your current content strategy. I’ll give a quick diagnosis, draft up an action plan, and gift you a few goodies from my client care package.

Again, I’m only opening up 15 spots — but you can check out all the details here.

Now on to today’s deep dive…

Think of your favorite creators and entrepreneurs…

You probably know how they started building their business, right?

Well, as Storypreneurs, that’s our goal.

To have our biggest fans know our story by heart.

Because here’s the truth:

The strongest brands are built off of a powerful backstory.

And every powerful backstory follows these 3 principles…

Principle #1: It must be relatable

As Storypreneurs - our goal is to build a relationship between us and our audience.

And we do that by sharing that we are (or were) just like our audience is now.

You’ll see this often with the most influential people:

Barack Obama: “I was a skinny kid with a funny-sounding name.”

Lewis Howes: “I was an awkward boy from Ohio.”

My example: “I was a shy kid with big dreams but no direction.”

Principle #2: There must be a Storygap

Everyone has a desire.

Everyone has bigger goals.

Everyone wants to get from point A to point B.

That conflict between where the character is to where they want to be is called a “Storygap”.

Where they are vs. Where they want to be

Without conflict, there is no Storygap; without a Storygap, there is no story.

Principle #3: There must be 2 journeys

Every story has 2 journeys. The external journey… and the internal journey.

The external journey is about achievement:

“How an awkward boy from Ohio became a Times best-selling author…”

“From 'skinny kid with a funny name' to outgoing president.”

The internal journey is about transformation:

Lewis Howes realizes that his dad’s accident was actually a gift, not a curse.

Barack Obama learned that campaigning for president was more than just winning — it was about expanding the next generation’s horizons.

That’s the difference between the Hero’s Journey and the Double Hero’s Journey. One shows external achievement. The other shows both external and internal transformation.

Here’s how you craft your Double Hero’s Journey:

The Double Hero’s Journey

Step 1: The Backstory

To start, give context to what life was like before you embarked on your journey. While we all have different starting places, one thing remains the same…

We’ve all had to deal with obstacles.

What were the obstacles that pushed you toward your new journey?

My example: I was a 16-year-old with a ton of drive and ambition, but no vehicle to channel it. Then Covid hit…

Step 2: The External Desire

Next, share the goals that are visible at first glance: Lose 20 lbs., write a book, start a business, etc.

My example: I wanted to make an income online. So I started a music promotion YouTube channel.

Step 3: The Internal Desire

However, the real motivation behind these goals is usually something deeper and more personal. We find these internal desires by digging 4-5 layers deeper and asking “Why?”

By sharing these internal desires we connect with our audience on a deeper level.

My example: In reality, I felt alone during the pandemic. And I wanted to feel seen and appreciated.

Step 4: The External Roadblocks

Share the roadblock that prevented you from reaching your goal(s). What was the major obstacle that made you want to quit?

My example: I spent nearly the entire Summer posting YouTube videos but I gained nearly zero traction.

Step 5: The Internal Roadblocks

Share the deeper roadblock that’s truly preventing you from reaching your goal(s).

Usually, when we face an obstacle, it’s not because of an external circumstance. It’s because, internally, we weren’t ready for the next level.

And that roadblock was there to help prepare us or impart a lesson that we need in the future.

My example: Truthfully, I wasn’t that passionate about music. And my lack of passion showed in my videos. I knew my YouTube channel wasn’t the right project for me long-term. So I quit.

Step 6: The Guide/Change

The guide or change is that epiphany moment when you learn or realize a new opportunity. Who or what sparked the change that led you on your current path?

My example: That’s when I stumbled across Jack Butcher’s work. And that led me to learn about things like digital leverage, building digital assets, and designing visuals.

Step 7: The Result

Lastly, share the result or continuation of your story. What happened after your epiphany moment?

My example: I became obsessed with stacking skills, building digital leverage, and becoming an internet entrepreneur. And, well… here we are today :)

Final Thoughts

And that’s the Double Hero’s Journey.

In each story, there are 2 levels to it. The text (or external stuff) and the subtext (or internal stuff).

Most people write their Hero’s Journey story and wonder why it doesn’t connect…

Storypreneurs write their Double Hero’s Journey and attract raving fans.

Crafting your Double Hero’s story is important because you can use it throughout your entire business:

  • On your About page

  • In your content

  • On podcasts

  • On stage

As a Storypreneur, your story is your most powerful asset.

Craft it. Share it. Refine it.

That’s all for this week.

I’ll see you next Sunday,

Jay “Your story is your differentiator” Yang

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, here's how I can help you:

1) If you want actionable resources to accelerate your online journey, check out my free and paid courses (2,588+ students)

2) Gain clarity on your journey with an ‘audience accelerator’ call

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

New here? Wanna build a profitable creator business? Gently caress that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.