How to "Future Proof" Yourself

The Bezos Rule

Hey — It's Jay!

I'm sitting at my desk. Listening to a song my friend sent me. Not sure if it's the music or because I just finished working out... but I'm in a good mood.

Today we're gonna discuss how I'm building my business to be "Future Proof" against AI, copycats, and competitors.

My brother and I were laughing today about how competitive we are. (I laughed more than he did, though.) 😉

Anyway, grab some water and get comfy - today's piece is gonna be a banger.

Estimated read time: 3 min

Before we begin...

✍️ StoryWork

• What if I told you I improved my storytelling in 9 days with StoryWork• Nathan deconstructs 9 storytelling principles + gives practical exercises• Learn how to tell compelling stories. Under 25 minutes a day.

A few people have asked me what my thoughts were on ChatGPT and the future of work for writers. And to be honest, I didn't really think about it much.

But from a little push from my grandma (more on her influence later), I decided to explore the topic of how to build an irreplaceable career and business.

To start my research I scoured the internet in search of all the fields AI would revolutionize - or at least impact.

"ChatGPT will replace creative work."

"ChatGPT is revolutionizing how we learn."

"Learn to program computers or DIE!"

Let's just say, my findings were dramatic, to say the least.

But while I was learning more about AI, I stumbled across this golden nugget by Jeff Bezos:

The Bezos Rule

"I very frequently get the question: 'What's going to change in the next 10 years?' And that is a very interesting question; it's a very common one. I almost never get the question: 'What's not going to change in the next 10 years?'

And I submit to you that that second question is actually the more important of the two -- because you can build a business strategy around the things that are stable in time. ... [I]n our retail business, we know that customers want low prices, and I know that's going to be true 10 years from now. They want fast delivery; they want vast selection.

It's impossible to imagine a future 10 years from now where a customer comes up and says, 'Jeff I love Amazon; I just wish the prices were a little higher,' [or] 'I love Amazon; I just wish you'd deliver a little more slowly.' Impossible. And so the effort we put into those things, spinning those things up, we know the energy we put into it today will still be paying off dividends for our customers 10 years from now.

When you have something that you know is true, even over the long term, you can afford to put a lot of energy into it.” - Jeff Bezos

Look, I get it. It seems like everyone is talking about ChatGPT and how it could potentially wipe out the creative industry.

In fact, my own grandma has told me I should learn more about this "AI thing" and maybe even go to college to study computer science.

But here's the thing:

You will always lose to the person who's more interested in their craft than you.

The reason why Kobe Bryant was able to spend thousands of hours hammering away at his craft was because, to him, it didn't feel like work. To him, it was play.

“Specific knowledge is found much more by pursuing your innate talents, your genuine curiosity, and your passion. It’s not by going to school for whatever is the hottest job, it’s not for going into whatever field investors say is the hottest.”

Naval Ravikant

While I think "follow your passion" is terrible advice. It makes sense to do things that naturally give you energy.

For example, my brother hates writing. He'd rather stare at a wall and watch paint dry than write an essay. And that's okay.

That's a signal for him to pursue a different path.

1) Lean into play

Naval has another great quote, "Do what feels like play to you, but looks like work to others."

As much as I love playing basketball, I know that millions of other kids around the world love the game just as much as I do, if not more. It feels like play to me, yet also looks like play to others.

But writing a newsletter on the weekend when you can be outside playing basketball? Not as many people. Do you see where I'm going with this?

Building a monopoly of your own is all about leaning into your unique advantages.

• What are you naturally good at?• What are you interested in?• What does the world need?

If you can find a vehicle at the heart of that intersection, that's when you'll become "Future Proof". That's when you'll escape the game of competition.

If you don't know what your "thing" is yet, that's okay.

While you're still figuring it out...

2) Focus on the fundamentals

Instead of trying to predict the future, focus on what doesn't change.

Just like Bezos focused on what he knew his customers would always want (fast delivery and low prices) - focus on what you know will always be valuable.

People will always need clear thinkers. You can't know what fields or careers will be "hot". So focus on learning how to critically think, make decisions, and synthesize ideas.

People will always want to feel connected. You can't know what technology will facilitate that communication. So focus on learning human behavior, cognitive biases, and persuasion.

While everyone else is freaking out and chasing trends. You can't know what opportunity will present itself. So focus on mastering the foundational skills that set you up to capitalize on any opportunity with maximum efficiency.

And when you do find your "thing"?

3) Pursue Mastery

“Mastery is the best goal because the rich can’t buy it, the impatient can’t rush it, the privileged can’t inherit it, and nobody can steal it.”

Derek Sivers

Once you find your "thing" or an opportunity presents itself - go all in. Obsess over your craft. Dream about your craft. Breathe your craft. Make it a part of who you are.

The people who should worry the most about being replaced aren't the creatives, they're the unskilled.

AI will first replace amateurs. Then the average.

The very last to be replaced (if ever) will be the masters. If you're a master at a skill or craft others deem valuable, you're very difficult to be replaced.

Mastery is the original moat.

So what does that look like for me?

Well, for me, it looks like doubling down on writing. Writing is the vehicle that allows me to clarify my thoughts, solidify my learnings, connect with others, and build digital leverage.

It's also the activity that gives me the most energy. I find that when I step away from the computer, I leave feeling more inspired than when I first sat down. That's a good sign.

With the basketball season being over, I have more time to invest in reading, researching, and writing (stay tuned for some more in-depth newsletters where I attack bigger ideas).

What does that look like for you?

Everyone has different innate talents, interests, and experiences. Lean into that. Don't copy me (or anyone for that matter) without context. Because the only way to build a "Future Proof" brand that separates you from AI, copycats, and competitors... is to double down on yourself.

• What's not going to change for you 10 years from now?• What feels like play to you but looks like work to others?• What foundational skills will amplify anything else you do?

"School, politics, sports, and games train us to compete against others. True rewards — wealth, knowledge, love, fitness, and equanimity — come from ignoring others and improving ourselves." - Naval Ravikant

I encourage you to worry less about what trends to catch (they'll always be there) and focus more on upskilling yourself.

What are you improving at this week?

Jay "Double Down On Yourself" Yang

P.S. When you want to accelerate your progress, here's how I can help you:

1) Steal my proven system for content creation and audience growth to help you consistently create 12+ pieces of content every week.

2) Gain clarity on your niche, growth, and systems with a 1:1 Strategy Session.

3) Promote yourself to 4,000+ subscribers by sponsoring this newsletter

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

LAST WEEK'S FEEDBACK

JAY'S PICKS: 🔥

New here? Wanna build a profitable solo writing business? Gently caress that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.