From idea → paid in 7 days

What I've learned from $4,546 in course sales

Read time: 3 min

Today, I'm going to walk you through the simple 7-step process that helped me go from idea → $4,546 in 7 days...

...and get notifications like these blowing up my inbox:

Ya ready? Lezz do this...

First, when should you build a course?

When you've either:

1) Done something people want to do too2) Can help people get a desired result faster

Step 1: Listen For Signal

If you build your audience the right way…

People will tell you what they want.

I’ve had countless questions, comments & DMs asking me about my content creation process:

In fact, I showed my content system to a client of mine and they said:

"Dude, how is this not a product already?"

If that isn't a sign, I don't know what is.

Okay, let's keep moving...

Step 2: Validate Your Idea

Once I had the idea of turning my content system into a product - I wanted to see if people would actually buy it.

2 weeks ago I wrote a newsletter revealing parts of my content system.

At the end, I took a poll:

That, combined with all the questions I was getting was enough to get me to start building...

Step 3: Build A Minimum Viable Product (MVP)

Then I got to work turning my system into a product.

I removed personal things, made it as universal as possible, and templatized it into 1 Notion hub.

Next?

Step 4: Get Feedback

I sent my system to my inner circle and got my 1st round of feedback.

When asking for feedback, use the ABC editing method:

Awesome - What was good?Boring - What didn't add any value?Confusing - What was unclear?

Step 5: Collect Testimonials

When people are unclear - they look to see what other people are doing.

That's why social proof is huge when launching an offer.

Use this simple template when you ask:

Hey [name], got a quick favor to ask:

I'm working on a new offer. Would you be able to help me with a testimonial? It'll only take around 60 seconds of your time.

Just a quick sentence or two about me as a creator or any thoughts you have about me.

That sound cool?

But, the most important part isn't what you say when you ask...

It's what you do BEFORE you ask.

I built rapport with every person before I asked for a testimonial from them.

More importantly, I developed friendships with them.

Friends > Acquaintances

Step 6: Write Your Sales Page

Your sales page is a digital salesman that works for you 24/7.

You write once, but thousands of people will see it.

I already wrote an in-depth guide on how I wrote my sales page, so I'll just link it below:

Step 7: Build Hype

Throughout this entire process, you should be building in public.

What does that mean?

It means involving your audience in the process.

• Take polls• Ask questions• Share progress• Give sneak peeks• Spark excitement

You may think, "Why would anyone want to know what I'm building?"

But trust me - people are hungry for authentic stories in action.

You don't need to be perfect. You need to be honest.

And after that?

It's launch time!! 😤

(There's a ton of nuance that I decided to cut because I didn't want to overload you with the nitty gritty).

The important point is this:

If you build an audience the right way, monetization becomes easy.

Pick a goal. Solve your own problems. Turn your solutions into products.

Happy Building! :)

Jay

P.S. It wouldn't be right for me to write a whole newsletter about my digital product and not share the link to it... so steal my proven system for content creation and audience growth

P.P.S. Next week, I got a big one. I'll be revealing the career path I'm choosing... stay tuned 👀

JAY'S PICKS: 🔥

New here? Wanna build a profitable solo writing business? Absolutely demolish that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.