How I Multiply My Content

(Steal My Content Multiplication System)

Estimated read time: 4 min

Before we begin... a message from a friend:

Create Trackable Links on the Fly

I’ve always found it difficult to know where my email subscribers were coming from. But with PixieBrix, you can create custom URLs anywhere on the web and automatically save them to Google Sheets.

Now on to today’s deep dive 🤝 

Creating content should be fun.

But let’s be honest…

Sometimes it can feel like a never-ending hamster wheel.

Idea → Content → Publish → Repeat

Over and over…

Each time, you have to start all over from scratch.

Starting at that blank page… watching that cursor blink.

And when it’s time to create another piece of content, you’re left feeling stuck. What should you write about? What should you say?

Trust me, I know that feeling.

And there’s a better way:

Learn to ‘Multiply’ Your Content

Whenever I talk to my clients about multiplying their content, they immediately get an icky feeling.

“I don’t want people to think I’m being lazy!” they respond.

But here’s the truth:

Less than half of your audience sees your content the first time you post it.

And even then, no one cares when they see your content again.

As Alex Hormozi said, “People need to be reminded more than they need to be taught.”

So here’s how I ‘multiply’ my content:

Step 1: Ideate

Most people create content whenever inspiration strikes.

But for me, I never like having to rely on random spouts of creativity.

So every Monday, I’ll block 30 minutes on my calendar purely for ideation.

I’ll go through:

• My YouTube history
• Bookmarked tweets
• Old journal entries
• My old content
• Favorite blogs

And then?

I’ll jot down any potential content ideas in my Idea Board:

Step 2: Research

Then, I’ll pick a topic that interests me and throughout the week I’ll dive deep into that topic.

The difference between consuming and research is intention.

Consumption is for pleasure. Research is for a purpose.

I’ll scour and scan:

• Books
• Articles
• Newsletters
• YouTube videos

What I’m doing is trying to gain an understanding of:

• What the problem is
• If it’s been solved by someone
• How I can build on top of their ideas to come to my own solution

Along the way, I’ll learn a ton about the topic I chose.

(That’s why I always say writing online is self-improvement in disguise).

Step 3: Create

Then on Saturday, I’ll start writing my deep dive newsletter.

I always recommend people start their content multiplication system with long-form writing because it makes it easier to multiply later on.

The reason why I do so much research before I sit down to write is so I never have to stare at a blank page.

Sebastian Junger once wrote: “If you have writer’s block, you don’t have enough ammunition.”

I hunt and gather so many ideas from multiple perspectives so when I sit down, all I have to do is connect and synthesize those ideas.

As Robert Greene said, “Creativity is a function of the previous work you put in.”

Once you finish writing, then it’s time to apply the special sauce…

Step 4: Multiply

The difference between ‘content adders’ and ‘content multipliers’ is this:

Content adders create once and publish once.

Content multipliers create once but publish many times.

Instead of trying to explain content multiplication, let me show you:

Step 1: Test your deep dive idea with tweets

Step 2: Write a Pre-CTA tweet

Step 3: Write a CTA tweet

Step 4: Take any one-liners from your deep dive and post them

(You can post them as tweets, Instagram posts, or LinkedIn posts)

Step 5: Take the actionable part of your deep dive and turn it into a Twitter thread (or Instagram carousel)

Do you see how infinite this can be?

Small changes in how you multiply your content can lead to large changes in your growth.

Step 5: Schedule

You don’t need to invest in fancy tools to start writing online.

I wrote for a year and a half without a content scheduler.

But, once you have a consistent income coming in, then invest in tools that will accelerate your growth and buy back your time.

I use Hypefurry to schedule my Twitter content.

Why invest in a scheduler?

Well, you’ve seen the power of multiplying your content once.

What if you did everything I mentioned above… twice?

What if instead of posting the one-liners once, you posted them twice?

What if instead of thinking in weeks, you started thinking in months?

You could write 6 deep dives and have 6 months’ worth of content scheduled.

I mean, who knows when I wrote this deep dive… 🤔

Final Thoughts

Is this system perfect? Of course not.

Can it be improved? You bet.

Take these ideas, run your own experiments, and create a content multiplication system that works for you.

And remember:

Most people don’t need new ideas, they need a better system.

That’s all for this week.

See you next Sunday,

Jay “Could be in the Bahamas right now and you wouldn’t even know it” Yang

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, here's how I can help you:

1) Get access to my full content multiplication system to create 6-12 pieces of high-quality content each week

2) Get an audit of your Twitter account, clarity on your direction, and a personalized plan for building and monetizing your audience with an audience accelerator call.

3) If you want actionable resources to accelerate your online journey, check out my free and paid courses (2,588+ students)

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

P.S. Do you already have a content multiplication system? What does that look like for you? Reply to this email and let me know!

New here? Wanna build a profitable creator business? Gently caress that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.