• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • The Way of The Obsessed Individual (How to Discover Your Life's Work)

The Way of The Obsessed Individual (How to Discover Your Life's Work)

Welcome to the Sunday Storypreneur! We are now 5,296 Storypreneurs strong.

It’s been a crazy week, final exams are stressing me out.

Nevertheless, I had to bring the heat for you. Enjoy!

JAY'S PICKS:

How to Become a multi-dimensional Polymath (link)

How to write and speak with greater impact (link)

Some uncommon things Morgan Housel thinks (link)

He makes $1.7M with 0 employees (link)

The billionaire formula for getting rich in 2023 (link)

The Deep Dive:

On the Howard Stern Show, Jerry Seinfeld was asked how hard he worked.

“I’m never not working on material,” Seinfeld said, “Every second of my existence I’m thinking: Can I do something with that?”

Stern’s face scrunched up, “That, to me, sounds torturous.”

Seinfeld closed his eyes and nodded in agreement, “It is, it is, but you know what? Your blessing in life is when you find the torture you’re comfortable with. And that’s with marriage, with kids, with work…” his voice trailed off and he looked back at Stern…

Find the torture you’re comfortable with and you’ll do well.”

And that’s the theme of this week’s deep dive…

A few days ago, I told my basketball coach that I was quitting basketball.

He looked disappointed, but said, “I respect that, Jay. You know you’ll always have a spot on the team.”

Why did I quit?

Well, the truth is, I wasn’t enjoying it anymore.

Don’t get me wrong…

I loved playing - and for a long time, I was obsessed with it.

I’d dribble for hours at a time in the basement, beg my mom to take me to a court when we were on vacation, and dream about making flashy passes and hitting the game-winning shot.

But recently, I’ve found a new obsession.

Something I can’t stop thinking about…

Something that - just like basketball did - consumes every fiber of my being.

What’s that obsession?

Living the “good life”.

Vague, I know.

But it’s through this macro obsession that micro obsessions are created:

• Building my Storypreneur business to $1M/yr in revenue
• Becoming a prolific communicator and storyteller
• Gaining 20 lbs. of muscle (more on this in a future letter)

These obsessions give me focus. They give me something to work towards.

And I don’t know about you, but I’m at my happiest when I’m building:

• My body
• My newsletter
• My personal brand
• My personal relationships
• My mission for the future

Here’s how to find your obsession:

The EAR Method

The last R is “repeat”…

Step 1: Experiment

“You read 100 books. 99 are meh, 1 changes your life. You meet 100 people. 99 you never see again, 1 changes your life. You try 100 things. 99 don’t work, 1 changes your life.”

Daniel Vassallo

How can you know what you’re obsessed with if you don’t try anything new?

Many people stop experimenting with their life after college. They think their path is set in stone. They start to live life on autopilot.

Instead, view life as a series of experiments.

When I first got into self-improvement, I tried everything:

• Meditation
• Lifting weights
• Eating healthier
• Bullet journaling
• Waking up at 5 am
• Taking cold showers
• Reading self-help books

Slowly, I learned what worked and what didn’t work. What I liked and didn’t like.

There’s a reason why scientists use the Experimental Method in their experiments.

Deconstruct your life like a scientist:

  1. Make observations

  2. Form a hypothesis

  3. Conduct an experiment

  4. Analyze and draw conclusions

You have to experiment to know what you’re obsessed with.

Step 2: Analyze

The difference between experience and wisdom is reflection.

Anyone can be experienced. Few turn their experiences into wisdom.

After you’ve experimented and explored - analyze the data.

Here are 5 tests to reflect on:

1) The History Test:

“What’s in your Google or YouTube history?”

Your obsession may be sitting in your search history.

• Safari history
• Saved tweets
• YouTube history
• Bookmarked posts
• Old journal notebooks

h/t: Zach Pogrob

2) The Pee Test:

“When are you so consumed with what you’re doing that you forget to pee?”

• When does time fly by?
• What can you do for hours on end?
• When do you forget to eat and drink water?

h/t: Zach Pogrob

3) The Shower Test:

“What do you tend to think about in the shower?”

• Where does your mind drift when you’re not actively thinking about something?
• Where does your mind go when you turn your mind off?
• What’s the top idea in your mind?

h/t: Paul Graham

4) The Play Test:

“What feels like play to you but looks like work to others?”

• What can you obsess over more than anyone else?
• What are you naturally talented at?
• Where do you have an edge?

“A good player works hard to win the game everyone else is playing. A great player creates a new game that favors their strengths and avoids their weaknesses.”

James Clear

h/t: Naval Ravikant

5) The Infinite Income Test:

“What would you do if money wasn’t a problem?”

• What do you do in your free time?
• What do you do on the weekends?
• What do you enjoy tinkering with?

“We don’t make movies to make money, we make money to make movies.”

Walt Disney

Step 3: Refine

Everyone has an obsession. Few people have the right obsession.

You win when you can package your obsession in a vehicle that compounds favorably over time.

Think of:

• Mr. Beast and his obsession with making the best YouTube videos.
• Connor McGregor and his obsession with being the best UFC fighter.
• Steve Jobs and his obsession with making the best Apple products.

When you obsess over things that compound, all you have to focus on is survival.

The longer you work on your obsession, the faster it will compound.

Pick the right obsession and progress is easy. Pick the wrong obsession and life is a struggle.

Having an obsession doesn’t mean you need to try to dominate the world.

Instead, view obsession as a vehicle to channel your attention and focus.

An obsession is like the scope of a sniper’s rifle. It allows you to zoom in on what matters to you.

Progress is made - not in leaps and bounds, but through a portfolio of micro experiments.

Become a mad scientist.

Obsess over building your ideal life.

Jay “To The Obsessed” Yang

P.S. Whenever you’re ready, here's how I can help you:

1) If you want actionable resources to accelerate your online journey, check out my free and paid courses (2,588+ students)

2) Book a 1:1 Strategy Session to gain clarity on your niche, growth, and systems.

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

New here? Wanna build a profitable solo writing business? Gently caress that big button below to join us:


Join the conversation

or to participate.