• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • My plan to build a $1M/yr one-person creator business

My plan to build a $1M/yr one-person creator business

How to get paid to self-improve

Read time: 4 min

In the information age…

Your greatest enemy isn’t the lack of information - It’s the abundance of it.

  • “Get on TikTok it’s the future!”

  • “Freelancing is the best way!”

  • “Stop focusing on followers!”

Everyone’s screaming at you from THEIR perspective.

What worked for THEM.

But you have to realize that the life THEY want to live may be different from the life YOU want to live.

The path I’m following to build my business may be different than the path you take - and that’s okay.

With all that being said, this is how I’m planning on building my creator business.

Ya ready? Let’s begin ↓

“I want to make money online… but I have no idea how to start?”

That was me - only a year and a half ago.

Ambitious, full of potential, but clue where to direct it.

After spinning my wheels for months…

And hopping back and forth between different business models…

Digital courses, copywriting, ghostwriting, back to copywriting, a paid newsletter, visual design agency, back to ghostwriting, consulting, and on and on…

I realized one thing:

The creators making independent income online aren’t necessarily smarter, more gifted, or more talented than you…

They’re just better at dealing with uncertainty, putting their head down, and EXECUTING.

You see, most people will put a big number in their bio…

Spend weeks crafting a business plan…

And think they’re making progress.

They’re not.

The only way to make progress is through action.

Step 1: Build Experience

The first step in anything - is to build experience.

You do that by putting the books down…

And by building out a project.

A few projects I’ve built in the past:

  • Wanted to get fit → Did Project50 in public

  • Wanted to learn writing → Started a weekly newsletter

  • Wanted to learn design → Created 500 visuals for my IG account

  • Wanted to improve my social skills → Built my inner circle in 7 days

  • Wanted to learn product launch strategy → Launched a low-ticket e-book

It doesn’t have to be perfect.

But you can’t build your 20th iteration without building your 1st.

Project-based learning is one of the best ways to learn a skill and gain experience.

(If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll know I’m building my digital product at lightning speed… execution is everything).

Step 2: Attract Attention (Top of Funnel)

The best way to build a project is by building it in public.

Why?

Well, for 2 reasons:

1. You practice your communication skills

2. You start to attract attention

As you begin building your project, start documenting your progress online.

The one thing you’ll notice about all the projects I’ve mentioned above is…

I did them ALL in public.

Attention ≠ $

But the RIGHT attention = $$$$$

And the best way to attract the right kind of attention is to build your personal brand.

You don’t have to be an expert or a guru to start.

Simply build your project and share what you’re learning.

Will it be uncomfortable at first?

Heck yeah, it will.

But…

Step 3: Build Trust & Authority (Middle of Funnel)

Once you begin to attract attention on social media…

The goal is to turn those followers into fans.

How?

By building trust and authority.

Trust comes from doing what you say you’re gonna do.

Authority comes from proving you can deliver a result.

The best way to prove you can deliver a result is through long-form content.

This is typically your:

  • Blog

  • Podcast

  • YouTube videos

  • Or your Newsletter

“But Jay, what do I write about?”

Write about what you’re learning, building, and doing.

If you look at all my previous newsletters - you’ll notice I only talk about “earned insights”.

Meaning: I do something → I share what I learn

It’s as simple (and as complicated) as that.

Step 4: Monetize By Selling Your Sawdust (Bottom of Funnel)

When you build an audience the right way, monetization becomes easy.

Take the digital product I’m building right now…

After creating content for the past 1.5 years - I’ve created a pretty well-oiled content creation and audience-growth system.

And after getting a ton of questions, comments, & DMs…

I knew it was time to share my system.

So last week, I quickly validated the idea (last week’s newsletter + poll).

Built an MVP and tested it (with my inner circle).

(Some round 1 feedback)

And now I’m writing out the sales page + promotional content.

How am I able to execute at this speed?

Because I’ve already created systems that I know will work.

Just as a woodworker creates sawdust as he builds his masterpiece.

So too, do you, as you build out your projects.

(This is why documenting your journey is crucial).

Step 5: Compound Yourself

What do you think I’m gonna do after I launch my digital product?
(Which should be out sometime this week 😉)

That’s right, I’m gonna share my learnings and start another project.

Building online is self-improvement in disguise.

And the more experience you gain, the faster it compounds.

The point is this:

A lack of clarity is not an excuse for inaction.

Because you can only gain clarity through taking action.

Lastly, a challenge…

What’s ONE action step you can take to start executing your goals?

Go do that!

Always be learning. Always be building. Always be evolving.

I’ll see you next week.

Jay "You don’t need a plan, you need execution" Yang

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

JAY'S PICKS: 🔥

New here? Wanna build a profitable solo writing business? gently caress that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.