• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • What I've learned about self-confidence

What I've learned about self-confidence

When I started my senior year of high school about a year ago, I was a very different person.

I had just finished my internship at beehiiv, and I was convinced I’d spend most of my time grinding away on my business ventures as a lone wolf.

The last ~10 months have been transformational.

My income has increased by more than 5x, and my social circle has expanded while I’ve developed tighter bonds with those closest to me.

It feels like I’ve had a second “awakening”.

The first was after I read How to Win Friends and Influence People. I quickly became obsessed with the world of self-improvement and entrepreneurship.

I read self-help books, lifted weights, listened to business podcasts, studied copywriting, and spent all my energy focused on leveling up myself.

But recently, I've felt myself growing out of that phase. Maybe it’s because I finally feel like I’m in a good place. Maybe it’s because I’m maturing. Or maybe it’s because I’m graduating on Tuesday. I don’t know.

What I do know is I’ve never felt happier. And it’s awesome.

It feels like all the hard work from my younger self is adding up. I’ve got a great gig with Noah Kagan. I’m the strongest I’ve ever been. I’ve developed relationships with people I can genuinely call my friends. And most importantly, I’m finally feeling comfortable in my own skin.

There are still a million things I want to do and accomplish in the future. And you can bet your ass I’ll be working hard to make them a reality.

But I’m slowly realizing that self-confidence isn't something that you gain when you become "the best".

There will always be someone richer, fitter, smarter, happier, more powerful than you.

But it’s not about them, and it’s never been.

Self-confidence is about closing the gap between who you are and who you want to be.

It’s You vs. You.

See you next Sunday,

Jay “Growing Up” Yang

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Forwarded this email? Sign up here
Follow me on Twitter and LinkedIn

Reply

or to participate.