• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • TCL #1 - Learn This Skill If You Want to Thrive as a Creator

TCL #1 - Learn This Skill If You Want to Thrive as a Creator

And it's not what you may think it is...

šŸ‘‹ Welcome to the 1st edition of The Creator Letters.

My personal letters to you, where I dive deep into writing, creating, and living the ā€˜good lifeā€™.

I have two goals for this newsletter. First, is for it to feel like a letter from a friend:

  • Witty

  • Personal

  • Binge-worthy

Second, is for it to be packed with juicy nuggets:

  • Engaging stories

  • Actionable tips

  • Memorable

Each Sunday, Iā€™ll dive deep into my personal philosophies. Raw, untapped, 16-year-old musings haha.

Sound fair enough? Yeah? Well, then letā€™s get started.

Whatā€™s good! Whatā€™s happening? Jay here.

Just finished working out and listening to a banger playlist.

The vibes are good. Ideas are flowing. Letā€™s get it!

So earlier today, I took a personality test.

And it felt kinda weird. Kinda like I was nakedā€¦

Lemme explain:

You see, as I was reading my test results and it was labeling who I wasā€¦

I felt unusually understood.

It felt like they were talking directly to me.

Kinda like they were staring straight through my soul.

Weird right?

Anyway, I think you know where Iā€™m going with this.

You donā€™t? Well, hereā€™s what I meanā€¦

That feeling of being unusually understoodā€¦

ā€¦Is the exact same feeling you want your readers to feel when they read your writing.

Basically, you want your readers to feel as understood as a personality testā€™s results haha.

But in all seriousnessā€¦

Your goal as a writer is to create an environment where your reader feels like theyā€™re talking to a friend.

Itā€™s a conversation, not a sales pitch.

And when you can bring readers into your worldā€¦

When you can create that positive environmentā€¦

Thatā€™s when you can influence meaningful change.

Thatā€™s when you can convince, compel, and convert.

Thatā€™s when you can turn followers into friends and friends into loyal fans.

So how do you create a positive environment?

It comes down to one skill:

Empathy.

Hereā€™s how to empathize with your readers:

Step 1: Take Polls

The best way to understand your audience? Ask them.

Iā€™m serious, ask them.

Take a poll and ask them for feedback. It can be about anything.

  • Favorite movies/TV shows?

  • Obstacles with writing?

  • What are their goals?

Here are a few polls I took recently:

ā€¦And the best part? People love sharing their opinions.

When in doubt, ask.

Step 2: Use Micro-commitments

Micro-commitments are words or phrases that get the reader to say ā€œyesā€.

Here are a few examples:

ā€¢ Got it? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ You with me? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ Understand? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ Make sense? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ Not bad, eh? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ Can you imagine that? ā€”> Yes

ā€¢ Do you understand what Iā€™m saying? ā€”> Yes

The more yeses you get, the better.

Do you catch what Iā€™m throwinā€™?

Step 3: Put Yourself In The Readerā€™s Shoes

I know, I know, it sounds clichƩ, but it truly is the best way to understand your readers.

As you edit and go through your writing, put yourself in your readerā€™s shoes.

  • Which part was confusing?

  • When did I get bored?

  • What did I learn?

Remember, no one cares about what you can do. They care what you can do FOR THEM.

Make sense? Awesome. Now onto my favorite tipā€¦

Step 4: Read Your Writing Out Loud

Out loud? Like out loud, out loud? Yes, out loud, out loud.

But why?

Because when people read your writing, they arenā€™t just reading the words on the screenā€¦

Theyā€™re talking to themselves internally (just like what youā€™re doing right now).

And if your writing doesnā€™t flow when spoken out loudā€¦

Then it wonā€™t make sense in your readerā€™s head.

Kapish?

Talk soon,

Jay "INTJ" Yang

P.S. if you wanna test your personality test, go to 16personalities.com itā€™s a pretty cool website and takes less than 10 minutes to complete (not sponsored).

Join the conversation

or to participate.