• Curious Jay
  • Posts
  • How I built a world-class network at 17

How I built a world-class network at 17

How to Build Relationships With High-Value People

Read time: 2 min

“I want to make $1M/yr online!” you say.

“Build your network!” everyone responds.

“But how?” you wonder.

“I’m a complete beginner, why would anyone talk to me, let alone be friends with me???"

Listen, I was once like you, my young grasshopper.

Anxious, confused, and maybe even a lil scared.

But don’t worry, because today I’ll be revealing my 3-step method to building relationships with high-value people (without needing prior experience).

The 3 steps go something like this:

1) Become High Value2) Craft Your Strategy3) Adjust your mindset

And trust me - this isn't like any other "networking hacks" you may have heard before.

By using this method, I've built a network of 7-figure founders, entrepreneurs, and superstar creators. (But more importantly, met 2 of my best friends from Twitter)

Ya ready? Here we go ↓

I used to take pride in being a lone wolf.

I would post every day, study copywriting, and obsess over making the best possible content...

But all I got were crickets.

It wasn't working.

Until...

I learned that the top creators were all in friend groups.

They all were supporting each other.

And that's when I realized I had it all wrong...

The best content doesn’t win.

The best content WITH the best distribution wins.

So here's how to build your world-class network ↓

Step 1: Become High Value

The way to build a world-class network is to spend less time networking - and more time skill-building.

Most people try to build a high-value network before they're high-value themselves.

Instead, build skills and knowledge so people want to be associated with you.

Give people a reason to build a relationship with you.

It's simple - High-value people attract high-value people.

Action Steps:1) Learn a high-value skill2) Use that skill to build projects3) Create content to attract like-minded people

Step 2: Craft Your Strategy

“Don’t dismiss people, don’t be a dick, and don’t rush. Play the long game.”

Tim Ferriss

"Hi, can I pick your brain?"

"Hello, I want you to mentor me."

"Hey there, can you follow me back?"

Most people try to "get" something from people when they first reach out.

Instead - play the long game.

Reach out with the intention to build a friendship - not a transactional relationship.

Why?

Because word spreads fast.

It's easy to try to squeeze as much value out of someone as you can...

But it's much better to give without expecting anything in return.

In a world where we're more connected than ever - your reputation is an asset.

Action Steps:1) Engage with people you admire2) Identify your goal for reaching out3) Reach out and highlight the benefit for them

Step 3: Adjust Your Mindset

"There's no way he'd say yes."

"But what if she says no?"

"I feel out of place."

When I first tried to reach out to other creators...

Thoughts like these would swirl around my head.

But I pushed through and shot my shot - and guess what?

They all said yes! Every person I've reached out to has wanted to build a relationship with me.

Does that mean you'll be 100% too?

Maybe not, but the lesson here is this:

You have more value than you think. (especially if you follow step 1)

And you are worthy of having a strong network.

This was just a brief overview of how to build a network online.

For an in-depth actionable guide on how I did it, read this:

TL;DR:1) Become a high-value person2) Give without expectations3) Shoot your shot

I'll catch ya next week!

Jay "Go Make Some Compadres" Yang

P.S. I created a small swipe file to help you learn the basics of building relationships. It's free on me, enjoy!

What'd you think of this week's newsletter?

If you've got a sec, I'd love your feedback. Just click below:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

LAST WEEK'S FEEDBACK

JAY'S PICKS: 🔥

🧵 Twitter Thread: How to build a million-dollar Twitter brand🎙 Podcast: James Clear on The Time Ferriss Show (if nothing else, listen to this. The way James articulates his ideas is insane. A masterclass on clear communication)🎥 Video: Harry Mack's Freestyle Rap Practice Session (watch a master honing his craft. This was also super good)📝 Article: How to Become a Niche of One

New here? Wanna build a profitable solo business? Click that big button below to join us:

Join the conversation

or to participate.